



# MEETING Minutes EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL

**COUNCIL CHAMBERS, GUNDAGAI** 

6:00PM, MONDAY 10TH JANUARY, 2022

Administration Centres: 1300 459 689

# MINUTES OF COOTAMUNDRA-GUNDAGAI REGIONAL COUNCIL EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, GUNDAGAI ON MONDAY, 10 JANUARY 2022 AT 6:00PM

PRESENT: Cr Charlie Sheahan (Mayor), Cr Leigh Bowden (Deputy Mayor), Cr Les Boyd, Cr

Logan Collins, Cr Trevor Glover, Cr David Graham, Cr Gil Kelly, Cr Abb McAlister,

Cr Penny Nicholson

IN ATTENDANCE: Linda Wiles (Acting General Manager), Ganesh Ganeshamoorthy (Manager

Assets), Mark Ellis (Manager Civil Works), Sally Atkinson (Acting Manager Development, Building and Compliance), Andrew Brock (Manager Facilities), John Chapman (Interim Manager Finance and Customer Service), Glen McAtear (Manager Regulatory Services), Matt Stubbs (Manager Technical Services)

#### 1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Chairperson acknowledged the Wiradjuri people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Land at which the meeting was held and paid his respects to Elders, both past and present, of the Wiradjuri Nation and extended that respect to other Aboriginal people who were present.

#### 2 OPEN FORUM

The Open Forum is not held at an Extraordinary Meeting.

### 3 APOLOGIES

An apology was received by Phillip McMurray (General Manager).

#### 4 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

Nil

#### 5 GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT

#### 5.1 BUSINESS

#### 5.1.1 OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF COUNCIL

#### **INFORMATION**

Under Section 233A of the Local Government Act, 1993 Councillor must take an oath of office or make an affirmation of office at, or before the first meeting of the Council after the election. Accordingly the oath or affirmation of office of the newly elected councillors is to be conducted at this meeting.

Oaths or affirmations of office must be taken individually by each councillor and be recorded in the Minutes of this Extraordinary Meeting.

Cr's Leigh Bowden and Penny Nicholson pledged their role as Councillor by Affirmation.

Cr's Gil Kelly, Glover, Collins, Sheahan, Boyd, McAlister and Graham pledged their role as Councillor by Oath.

#### 5.1.2 ELECTION OF THE MAYOR FOR THE TERM 10TH JANUARY 2022 - SEPTEMBER, 2023

# RESOLUTION 001/2022

Moved: Cr David Graham Seconded: Cr Trevor Glover

- In accordance with Schedule 7 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021 Council determined the method of electing the Mayor be by Ordinary Ballot.
- 2. Councillor Charlie Sheahan was elected Mayor for the January, 2022 to September, 2023 term.
- 3. Council determined to elect a Deputy Mayor.

**CARRIED** 

# 5.1.3 ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR 10TH JANUARY 2022 - SEPTEMBER, 2023

## RESOLUTION 002/2022

Moved: Cr David Graham Seconded: Cr Logan Collins

- 1. Subject to Council resolving to elect a Deputy Mayor (previous Item on the agenda) the election of the Deputy Mayor for the 10<sup>th</sup> January, 2022 to September, 2023 term proceed.
- 2. In accordance with Schedule 7 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021 Council determined the method of electing the Deputy Mayor be by Ordinary Ballot.
- 3. Cr Bowden was elected Deputy Mayor for the January, 2022 to September, 2023 term.

**CARRIED** 

### 5.1.4 FILLING OF VACANCIES

# RESOLUTION 003/2022

Moved: Cr David Graham Seconded: Cr Logan Collins

Pursuant to section 291A(1)(b) of the Local Government Act 1993 (the Act) Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council declares that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a councillor within 18 months after the last ordinary election of councillors for the Council on 4 December 2021 are to be filled by a countback of votes cast at that election for the office in accordance with section 291A of the Act and directs the General Manager to notify NSW Electoral Commissioner of the Council's decision within 7 days of the decision.

**CARRIED** 

### 5.1.5 REVIEW OF DELEGATIONS OF AUTHORITY OF GENERAL MANAGER

# RESOLUTION 004/2022

Moved: Cr Penny Nicholson Seconded: Cr Leigh Bowden

- 1. Following the review of the delegations of the General Manager in accordance with section 380 of the Local Government Act 1993, the General Manager, or the person who acts in that position, continue to be granted all of the functions, powers, duties and authorities of the Council that it may lawfully delegate under the Local Government Act 1993, any other Act, regulation, instrument, rule or the like (including any functions, powers, duties and authorities delegated to the Council by any authority, body, person or the like) except those functions prescribed in section 377(1) of the Local Government Act 1993.
- 2. The General Manager, or the person who acts in that position, be granted the additional delegation to authorise urgent works and other expenditures outside of the adopted budget up to an amount of \$20,000.

**CARRIED** 

# 5.1.6 COMMITTEES REQUIRING COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES

# RESOLUTION 005/2022

Moved: Cr Leigh Bowden Seconded: Cr Trevor Glover

A Councillor, or where required Councillors, be nominated as delegate, or delegates to the committees detailed in the report.

The following delegate, or delegates, were nominated to the Committees:

Committee Name	Delegates/ Representatives required
Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee (ARIC)	Cr's Graham and Glover
Finance Committee	Cr Sheahan (Mayor) and Cr's Glover, Graham and McAlister.
Local Traffic Advisory Committee	Cr Collins
Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee	Cr Collins
Cootamundra Tourism Action Group Advisory Committee	Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor)
Gundagai Tourism Action Group Advisory Committee	Cr Nicholson
Cootamundra Aerodrome Users Group Advisory Group	Cr Sheahan (Mayor)
Gundagai Youth Council	Cr McAlister
Cootamundra Youth Council	Cr Collins
The Cootamundra Showground Users Group s.355 Committee	Cr Kelly
The Art Centre Cootamundra s.355 Committee	Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor)
Cootamundra Heritage Centre s.355 Committee	Cr Boyd
Stockinbingal Ellwood's Hall s.355 Committee	Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor)
Wallendbeen Memorial Hall s.355 Committee	Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor)
Muttama Hall Management s.355 Committee	Cr Glover
Muttama Creek Regeneration Group s.355 Committee	Cr Sheahan (Mayor)
Goldenfields Water County Council	Cr McAlister
The Riverina Regional Library	Miriam Crane (Manager Community and Culture) Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor) and Cr Nicholson as alternate delegate.

Eastern Riverina Arts Advisory Committee	Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor)
Cootamundra Development Corporation	Cr Bowden (Deputy Mayor)
South West Slopes Zone Service Liaison Committee (RFS)	Cr Kelly
Softwoods Working Group	Cr Graham

**CARRIED** 

#### 5.1.7 MEETING DATES FOR ORDINARY MEETINGS OF COUNCIL FOR 2022

# RESOLUTION 006/2022

Moved: Cr Leigh Bowden Seconded: Cr Logan Collins

The Meeting closed at 6:47PM.

- 1. The Ordinary Meetings of Council be held on the fourth (4<sup>th</sup>) Tuesday of the Month from January to November at 6:00pm.
- 2. The Ordinary Meeting held in December remain on the second Tuesday at 6:00pm.
- 3. The current arrangement of alternating meetings between Cootamundra and Gundagai remain.
- 4. Alternatives to the current meeting arrangements be considered if requested.
- 5. The Ordinary Meeting Scheduled for Tuesday, 25<sup>th</sup> January, 2022 be brought forward to 2:00pm.

**CARRIED** 

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at January 2022.	the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on 25
CHAIRPERSON	GENERAL MANAGER