Extraordinary Council Meeting


Alby Schultz Meeting Centre, Cootamundra


5:00 PM, Wednesday 9th March, 2022


Administration Centres:  1300 459 689



Extraordinary Council Meeting Minutes

9 March 2022


MINUTES OF Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council
Extraordinary Council Meeting
Alby Schultz Meeting Centre, Cootamundra
Wednesday, 9 March 2022 AT 5:00 PM


PRESENT:                 Cr Charlie Sheahan (Mayor), Cr Leigh Bowden (Deputy Mayor), Cr Les Boyd, Cr Logan Collins, Cr Trevor Glover, Cr Gil Kelly, Cr Abb McAlister, Cr Penny Nicholson

1            Acknowledgement of Country

The Chairperson acknowledged the Wiradjuri people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Land at which the meeting was held and paid his respects to Elders, both past and present, of the Wiradjuri Nation and extended that respect to other Aboriginal people who were present.

2            Open Forum

There was no Open Forum

3            Apologies

Resolution  067/2022  

Moved:     Cr Leigh Bowden

Seconded:         Cr Les Boyd

The apology from Cr David Graham be received and leave of absence granted.


4            Disclosures of Interest


5            Confidential Items  

5.1         Closed Council Report

Resolution 068/2022  

Moved:       Cr Gil Kelly

Seconded:   Cr Trevor Glover

1.       Item 5.2 be considered in closed Council at which the press and public are excluded in accordance with the applicable provisions of the Local Government Act, 1993 and related public interest reasons detailed.

2.       In accordance with section 11 (2) and (3) of the Local Government Act, 1993, the reports, correspondence and other documentation relating to Item 5.2 be withheld from the press and public.

5.2         Mayoral Report - Confidential Staffing Matter

Provisions for Confidentiality

Section 10A (2) (a)  – The Confidential Report contains personnel matters concerning particular individuals (other than councillors).

Public Interest

Not applicable.



5.2         Mayoral Report - Confidential Staffing Matter

Resolution  069/2022  

Moved:       Cr Leigh Bowden

Seconded:   Cr Logan Collins

1.   The Council accept Mr Phillip Mc Murray’s resignation as General Manager of the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council with effect on and from 25th March 2022.

2.   The Council thanks Mr McMurray for his service to the Council and in particular, the leadership he showed in helping to unite the Council following amalgamation.

3.   The Council appoint Mr Glen McAtear as the Council’s Acting General Manager pursuant to sections 336 and 351 of the Local Government Act 1993, with such person to remain as the Council’s Acting General Manager until the Council appoints an Interim General Manager.

4.   The Council invite Local Government NSW Management Solutions and McArthur to submit proposals to recruit a new General Manager for the Council.





Cr Charlie Sheahan (Mayor)

Cr Leigh Bowden

Cr Les Boyd

Cr Logan Collins

Cr Trevor Glover

Cr Gil Kelly

Cr Abb McAlister

Cr Penny Nicholson



Cr David Graham





5.3         Resumption of Open Council Meeting

Resolution  070/2022  

Moved:       Cr Logan Collins

Seconded:   Cr Leigh Bowden

The Open Council meeting resume.


5.4         Announcement of Closed Council Resolutions

Note: The Chairperson announced the resolutions made in Closed Council.


The Meeting closed at 5:45PM.


The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on 22 March 2022.