Extraordinary Council Meeting


Council Chambers, Gundagai


5:00pm, Wednesday 19th December, 2018


Administration Centres:  1300 459 689



Extraordinary Council Meeting Minutes

19 December 2018


MINUTES OF Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council
Extraordinary Council Meeting
Council Chambers, Gundagai
Wednesday, 19 December 2018 AT 5:00pm


PRESENT:                 Cr Abb McAlister (Mayor), Cr Dennis Palmer (Deputy Mayor), Cr David Graham, Cr Gil Kelly, Cr Penny Nicholson, Cr Charlie Sheahan

IN ATTENDANCE:    Phil McMurray (Acting General Manager), Les Munn (Acting Director Development and Community) and Tim Swan (Manager Finance).


1            Acknowledgement of Country

The Chairperson acknowledged the Wiradjuri people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Land at which the meeting was held and paid his respects to Elders, both past and present, of the Wiradjuri Nation and extended that respect to other Aboriginal people who were present.

2            Apologies


Note: Apologies were received on behalf of Cr’s Bowden, Phillips and Stewart.

Resolution  235/2018  

Moved:       Cr Dennis Palmer

Seconded:   Cr Charlie Sheahan

The apologies received from Cr’s Bowden, Phillips and Stewart be accepted and leave of absences granted.



3            Disclosures of Interest

 Cr Dennis Palmer disclosed a significant non-pecuniary interest in relation to item 4.2.1 Proposed Addition to Cootamundra Local Environmental Plan 2013 Amendment 7, due to a relative’s property adjoining the subject property of which the amendment is proposed.


4            General Manager’s Report

4.1         Corporate Services Directorate

4.1.1      Board Vacancy Cootamundra Nursing Home

Resolution  236/2018  

Moved:       Cr Gil Kelly

Seconded:   Cr David Graham

Councillor Phillips’ nomination to the Board of Directors of Cootamundra Nursing Home be endorsed.



4.2         Development and Community Services Directorate

4.2.1      Proposed Addition to Cootamundra Local Environmental Plan 2013 Amendment 7

Note: Having disclosed a significant non-pecuniary interest in this item Cr Palmer left the Chamber at 5:15pm during discussion and voting.

Resolution  237/2018  

Moved:       Cr Charlie Sheahan

Seconded:   Cr Gil Kelly


1.       Cootamundra Local Environmental Plan 2013 Amendment 7 be endorsed with addition of Item 5 as per attachment.

2.       Cootamundra Local Environmental Plan 2013 Amendment 7 (including Item 5) be endorsed and sent to the Department of Planning and Environment for Gateway Determination.

3.       Amendment 7 be placed on exhibition upon receipt of delegated approval from the Department of Planning and Environment.





Cr Abb McAlister (Mayor)

Cr David Graham

Cr Gil Kelly

Cr Penny Nicholson

Cr Charlie Sheahan




Cr Leigh Bowden

Cr Doug Phillips

Cr Craig Stewart

Cr Dennis Palmer





Note: Cr Palmer returned to the meeting at 5:21pm.

The Meeting closed at 5:22pm.


The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Council Meeting held on 29 January 2019.



CHAIRPERSON                                                                                                      GENERAL MANAGER